The Flow of Colors

Gold, Black, Red LR

would you do an ice blue dining room when the color palette of your home is this?

The things that I’ve witnessed the past few days have really inspired what I’m about to write here.

I was with a client in their home and was asked why I recommended against doing an ice blue color in the dining room. When I disagreed with this color suggestion, I was met with complaints and misunderstanding. In my logic (and correct me if I’m wrong here, fellow designers), when you hire me to design your home, you are trusting me to interpret your tastes in a way that makes your home beautiful. If a home owner has a specific suggestion such as this ice blue color scheme, it is part of my responsibility to make sure that suggestion makes “sense” with the rest of the home. Of course, there are no rules to design (bring it on!), but I function on a “what-I-do-is-what-I-feel” basis, and how I feel is that there should always be flow throughout your home so that it feels cohesive.

It has never been my practice to put a different color in every room. Sure, there should be pops of color, but with accessories and details. My design work will never include an all-red room, blue room, green room, and so on, because I find myself asking where is the connection that brings it all together into one home?

In my story, this client’s house was primarily black, gold, and purple. Some rooms in the house has pops of green or red, but there is always that sense of the matching color flow throughout the house. The suggestion of having an entirely ice blue dining room more or less throws a wrench into my design plan, and I cannot help but let my apprehension show.

But what if I am wrong in this and the more important thing is to give the client what they want and say, “To hell with my cohesion”? Do you agree or disagree? I want to hear your thoughts!

One thought on “The Flow of Colors

Leave a Reply

