Navy? Well now, that’s my middle name!

Nancy's Dining Room

The (still in progress!) dining room in my home… is it obvious that I love it?

I am starting to think there may be a reason why “navy” and “Nancy” are so close in spelling… I am just wild about navy blue! Though there was certainly more navy seen at the High Point in the fall, I was happy to see accents of it throughout the spring market.

There’s nothing better than successful cross-seasonal colors, and navy blue is a classic color and always trending both in interior design and in fashion. Quite frankly, there’s nothing wrong with that in my eyes!

Here are a few reasons why this color might need to start becoming a part of your everyday life…

Chelsea House IV

Chelsea House

I really found the navy blue jackpot in the Chelsea House showroom. A great thing about using this color on your walls is not only that it is an elegant and calming color, but that it is easy to match with.

Chelsea House III

Chelsea House

More from Chelsea House, I was in navy heaven! The design of the frame of this mirror brought me to the entrance of a garden, and I instantly fell in love with it. The Chelsea House showroom was a perfect example of why using a majority of white accessories in a navy blue room is always a gorgeous design choice.

Stanely Showroom III

Stanley Furniture

Speaking of beautiful white mirrors and navy blue walls, how wonderful are these mirrors from the Stanley Furniture showroom? I loved the way they were presented on this enormous wall, it really was a clever way to utilize the shape of the mirror. In addition to my white accessories comment, white flowers like the ones used here are of course included in excellent pieces of decoration.

Screen Shot 2013-05-02 at 1.07.34 PM

Navy blue and white will always be a favorite combination, even in fashion! I love the lace-like pattern of this dress, very elegant.

Chelsea House II

Chelsea House

It may be a brighter blue, but the Chelsea House showroom once again presented a stunning use of the color on the walls. This amazing sunburst mirror is a really wonderful piece, its color accentuated by the navy blue background.

Screen Shot 2013-05-02 at 1.08.21 PM

Solid navy blue paired with another bold color–always a wise choice in my eyes!

Chelsea House I

Chelsea House

Even if it’s just in accents, the color really stands out–and is sometimes a better alternative than using black as a lowlight in a room. Think of how different these paintings would feel if, instead of a navy, the detailed border was in black. A whole new emotion!

Screen Shot 2013-05-02 at 1.05.09 PM

If only I could pull off that hat, I would snag that outfit in a second!

Stanley Showroom II

Stanley Furniture

How warm and inviting is this showroom by Stanley Furniture? The navy china against a primarily yellow room is gorgeous, and a classic pair of colors to see together in this fashion. I always feel right at home when a room captures this design choice.

Stanely Showroom I

Stanley Furniture

Another shot of the beautiful yellow and navy blue kitchen from Stanley Furniture. Using a light bookshelf to display vases and china is a great way to really bring out that homey feeling, and I adore the navy blue china!

Screen Shot 2013-05-02 at 1.09.01 PM

Even if it’s just a splash here and there, you can’t go wrong throwing in some navy blue into your designer’s mindset.

Have you ever used the color in a project? Have a favorite outfit in navy?

2 thoughts on “Navy? Well now, that’s my middle name!

  1. Pingback: Navy? Well now, that’s my middle name! | naishacamara

Leave a comment